so much has been happening!!

Posted: May 29, 2012 in Art, Catherine, Family, Memories, Our World, Personal, Work
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Well, where to start?

It has definitely been a busy few months since I have updated on here…

Firstly, I have a full-time job, which could be a major contributor to the semi-recent lack of posts. I am now one of five Graphic Designers working for L’Oreal Australia. This involves many things from the advertisements, in-store signage and even the packaging. It has been a very steep learning curve for me; coming from a recent bout of drill-bits, power-tools and automotive industry work, learning the specifics of the largest cosmetics manufacturer in the industry has indeed been an eye-opening experience. I now know far too much about hair colouring and foundation shades to be deemed healthy for a heterosexual male.

That said, I am enjoying it, I am surrounded by an awesome design team that seems to click with each other (a very good thing!) and can have a joke with each other. I am learning a lot of invaluable skills and knowledge that I will take with me where ever events and life take me.

I have been spending a lot of time trying to re home my Grandmother. Nan’s nursing home has ‘changed directions’ and will no longer look after long-term patients from July 1st. I have been searching for a new place, inspecting a few of them, and chasing the inevitable paperwork that this sort of activity entails. It is not a pleasant thing to have to do, however it needs to be done.

I guess one thing to be thankful for, is that Nan’s dementia is so afflicting now, that she will not know what is going on behind the scenes, and therefore wont be stressing about the move, as she has done in the past. It is a small comfort to me, knowing that she will eventually end up in the place I have her on the list for, and potentially be able to attend an occasional Sunday church service.

I am engaged!

Last Tuesday I finally took the plunge and proposed to my gorgeous, wonderful girl.

I’ll tell you how it all went down.

I wanted to propose on our anniversary (the 16th), but when I got home from work, Cath was in bed and feeling ill. So no dinner, no proposal.
Then i was hoping to get her involved in an art project for her nephew, and slide the question in somehow… however, she chose to watch Twilight…
Sunday night I asked if she wanted to go out for dinner, to make up for the 16th… however Downtown Abbey was on, so no go!

Tuesday I texted her at work, asked “Would you like to go for a beach walk after work?” which is not an uncommon thing, considering that we are about 600 metres from the beach.
She replied with “if it’s not too cold or raining, then maybe”.
Got home, she started complaining about it being cold… I said ‘put on a bloody coat, let’s go for a walk!’
Once we got to the beach, we sat there on the wall for a bit, talking crap etc…

I then asked her “can i ask you something honestly?”
she said “ummm… ok?”
so i dropped to one knee and asked her if she would marry me.
she lost it, crying, emotions etc… after 5 minutes, i asked if i could either get an answer or get up, cos my knees are arthritic, and not good on cold concrete.
she said yes, and i asked “Well, did you want the ring i am holding?!”
she hadn’t even seen it, so lost it again, and finally said yes, and i put it on her finger…

Then began the crazy phone-calls and SMS’s to everyone close to us, followed by mutual Facebook status messages (so are the times we live in, folks!)

Although it has been slightly less than a week, we have already started with the planning; calling and visiting places for prices etc.
Be confident that there will be many more updates as details are finalised!

Apart from all of that, nothing else is really new.
My artworks are slowing down due to work, my writing has all but stopped (but I am still planning it all in my head, writing and rewriting plots for upcoming stories, songs, novels, children’s books etc)

I am hoping to write in here more often, now that I am becoming acclimatised to working life, and all of the other extra things that seem to come in my direction.
Please, if anyone wants to hear about something specific, or wants me to just do a general update, please leave a comment on here! šŸ™‚

Got Something to Say?

