Feb Photo 14 – Heart

Posted: February 14, 2012 in Art, Boring, Catherine, Feb Photo, Meme, Personal
Tags:

Feb Photo 14 – Heart

Valentine’s Day is a strange time of year. Some see it as the celebration of love between two people. Some see it as a glorified commercial holiday introduced by the florists and greeting card industries.

Whatever you may think of it, If you are with a special someone, it is usually a bit of a thing. Maybe not a big deal, but usually something is mentioned, at the very least. If you are single, it is a day of frustration, emotions, occasional anger (for example, the inability to go out with a friend for dinner without a reservation made in October the previous year), or simply the feeling of sadness at being alone, even if you don’t give a crap about teddy bears, rainbows and flowers (and all the other crap!)

My outlook is simple. As with most other commercial holidays, I do my best to make my own presents. For a few years at Christmas, I recorded my own CD, using instruments I built, recording and mastering the audio myself, burning and printing the discs myself. It took me the best part of a year per CD. Two years ago, I decided to give framed photographs to my close friends and family. Either a photo of a loved one, or perhaps a beautiful sunset. All gifts had a specific meaning to the person I was gifting it to.

A gift that is bought, often has little to no thought, other than “I am running short on time, and grabbed the nearest thing I thought you might like…”

However a gift that is made requires forethought. Is it really worth making something for someone, knowing that they will probably not like it, or even appreciate the effort that has been put into constructing it?

A gift created is a gift from the heart.

The above photo shows my attempt at making a card for my special someone. It is a simple card with two colours (blue on the outside, red on the inside), and shows a pop-up pixel heart design that I found on a website, whilst looking for a specific card idea. This took me a few hours to make, as I stuffed up the first two attempts. Simple, yet when delivered with flowers, it is a gift from the heart.

I also avoid giving money to the evil greeting card industry… 😀

If you are interested, the website with the instructions for this card can be found here.

Got Something to Say?

