Feb Photo 10 – Self Portrait

Posted: February 10, 2012 in Boring, Feb Photo, Meme, Personal
Tags:

Feb Photo 10 – Self Portrait

I am not a big fan of people taking my photo, let alone taking one of myself. There are not too many photos out there of me, unless it is a group photo or gathering. I believe that it all started when I was in school. the only times I would have a photo taken outside of birthdays and christmas, was my school photos. I wasn’t a big fan of them, because I didn’t have many friends in school, and everyone, whilst trying to get their friends to sit or stand next to them in the photos, were also trying to NOT have me next to them. As this caused me to feel crappy about myself, I guess I have just taken this through to adulthood, and now I subconsciously associate having my photo taken with school.

Lately I have been getting more rational in this area, and I have been in more photos than in previous years. Today I even went out of my way to be in a photo that will appear in the local paper (more on that at another time).

Earlier today I had the experience of visiting the dentist, as you can see in the photo above. I was having a simple filling done, however, my teeth are anything but simple. Due to my bone density, I require a ridiculous amount of drugs to numb up my mouth before works can be done. My record is 16 injections for a filling. I have even been gassed for a Root canal procedure. My dentist is a saint! he pays attention to my pain indicators, drugs me enough that I cannot feel it, and at the mere twitch of my hand, he retracts his tools, as he knows that it means it is hurting. The best part is he is young, so I shouldn’t need to search for a new one until well into my 60s! (My mechanic is awesome, but I will need a new one in 10-15 years… I have instructed him to give me 3 referrals for other mechanics.)

As many people who know me would know, I tend not to go anywhere outside without my sunglasses on, as my eyes are my income, so I am doing my best to take care of them. You may also notice in this photo that I have supplied my own sunglasses for my dental work. This actually helps me relax, as the supplied ones are always a generic fit, and distract me from focussing out any residual pain. Today, I managed to have a filling without any injections at all… totally natural! (The second filling required 6 needles though…)

So, this is my Self Portrait with a difference…

Got Something to Say?

