30 Day Song Challenge – Day 29

Posted: July 9, 2011 in Meme, Music, Personal
Day 29 – A Song From Your Childhood – Beach Boys – God Only Knows
 
As I have probably mentioned on here a few times, my childhood consisted of an interesting mix of music, mostly from the 50s – early 80s, due mostly to my parents only listening to Golden Oldies radio stations. As a result, my music tastes are a rather mixed and odd collection from various genres and eras.
 
When I was about 7 or 8 years old, my parents took me to a fete for an organisation they were involved in. I went every year, but this year stands out in my memory because it was the year I purchased my first Vinyl LP. At this point of my life I did not have any cassettes to call my own, and CD was a long way from being a standard in many collections. (1987 – CD was around, but not exactly cheap and affordable!!) I was well into my first session of “Crate Digging” in my life, flicking through countless records by Khamahl and Nana Mouskouri, I came across a Greatest Hits compilation of Beach Boys music. I had heard of at least half of the album, and liked those songs, so decided to shell out the huge price of $1 and treat myself. It did not matter that I did not have a record player of my own, there was one in the lounge, so that would do.
 
One particular song caught my attention, with its lyrics really reaching out to me, and the unique combination of instruments used in the song. “God Only Knows” (Which I later learned is from the album “Pet Sounds” released in 1966) is a love song, but yet it differs from other love songs of its time. The first lyrics to be heard are “I may not always love you”, which is telling the person it was written for that love potentially ends. For its day, with songs containing lyrics like “I will always love you” and “Ain’t no mountain high enough”, to start a song by stating that ‘I may not always love you” sets it apart from the others. The lyrics speak of a never-ending love that the singer has for the un-named flame of his life, that read almost as a love letter or a ‘pleading for forgiveness’ letter. The context of these lyrics are not shared in the song, and I don’t believe the author (Tony Asher) has ever really explained them in great detail. This is yet another song that holds greater meaning for the author than the listener, however many people have found a familiar line, or phrase to call this song their own.
 
 
Beach Boys – God Only Knows
I may not always love you
But long as there are stars above you
You never need to doubt it
I’ll make you so sure about itGod only knows what I’d be without you

If you should ever leave me
Though life would still go on believe me
The world could show nothing to me
So what good would living do me

God only knows what I’d be without you

God only knows what I’d be without you

If you should ever leave me
Well life would still go on believe me
The world could show nothing to me
So what good would living do me

God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows what I’d be without you
God only knows
God only knows what I’d be without you

Got Something to Say?

