30 Day Song Challenge – Day 24

Posted: July 4, 2011 in Meme, Music, Personal

Day 24 – A Song That You Want To Play At Your Funeral – Bobby McFerrin – Don’t Worry Be Happy

When I die, I don’t want my friends to sit around in a room and cry about it all, or think of it as a sombre occasion. I want it to be a celebration of my life.

As the Irish have done for years, when someone close to them dies, they don’t mourn as most people would, wearing black, crying, wailing etc. The true Irish Catholics have a Wake; a final party to end all parties for the recently departed. Sometimes the deceased is invited, sat in the corner in a comfy chair and given a pint of Guinness and a Cigar (if they smoked) and the friends simply get rolling drunk, have a laugh, tell jokes, funny stories of the deceased, and say their final goodbyes to them, sitting and talking with the corpse, tapping glasses and saying “Slainte” (pronounced Slon-cha) which translates in Gaelic to “Cheers”. There is no crying, as they aren’t sad they have died, rather, they are happy that the have been fortunate enough to know them and for the deceased to be a part of their lives.

As no doubt at least a few people will still want to have a cry at my funeral, I would want “Bobby McFerrin – Don’t Worry Be Happy” to be played, as this song has always put a smile on my face, and it gives a great message of ‘In every life we have some trouble. When you worry you make it double, Don’t worry, be happy.” I don’t want people to be sad that I have died. I want my friends and family to see that they were lucky to have known me for the time that they did, and they should be happy for that.

I know this is starting to sound a little self-indulged, however I think talking about ones own funeral needs to be. Even if I said “I don’t want a ceremony, or any memorial service at all” I would sound a bit full of myself… Of course, if you DO think I am being a bit full of myself, you can always tell my corpse… after you buy me a Guinness! đŸ˜€

One reason I love this song so much (apart from the clip, which features Robin Williams) is that the entire song is done vocally by Bobby McFerrin. There are no instruments at all in this recording, only Bobby’s voice. Bobby has wonderful vocal range and vocal control, with the ability to do the high “coo-coo” to the bass line in the song. A true modern musical talent, with only a single hit!

Bobby McFerrin – Don’t Worry, Be Happy

Here is a little song I wrote
You might want to sing it note for note
Don’t worry be happy
In every life we have some trouble
When you worry you make it double
Don’t worry, be happy……

Ain’t got no place to lay your head
Somebody came and took your bed
Don’t worry, be happy
The land lord say your rent is late
He may have to litigate
Don’t worry, be happy
Lood at me I am happy
Don’t worry, be happy
Here I give you my phone number
When you worry call me
I make you happy
Don’t worry, be happy
Ain’t got no cash, ain’t got no style
Ain’t got not girl to make you smile
But don’t worry be happy
Cause when you worry
Your face will frown
And that will bring everybody down
So don’t worry, be happy (now)…..

There is this little song I wrote
I hope you learn it note for note
Like good little children
Don’t worry, be happy
Listen to what I say
In your life expect some trouble
But when you worry
You make it double
Don’t worry, be happy……
Don’t worry don’t do it, be happy
Put a smile on your face
Don’t bring everybody down like this
Don’t worry, it will soon past
Whatever it is
Don’t worry, be happy

Got Something to Say?

