30 Day Song Challenge – Day 23

Posted: July 3, 2011 in Meme, Music, Personal

Day 23 – A Song That You Want To Play At Your Wedding – George Harrison – Something

When I first heard this song as a child, I thought it was a song about something, but the listener had to try to guess what the ‘something’ was. I have always loved this song, but for different reasons since that time. No matter what anyone says, to me, this is the ideal love song. Written by George Harrison in 1969, when still a member of the Beatles, this track appeared on the Abbey Road album.

George wrote this song about his wife Patty, to tell her of the love he had for her. It is written straight from the heart, with only his emotions and love for her to dictate the lyrics. It is an honest, raw love song, it is simply George telling the listener all of the ways that he loves Patty, and how much he couldn’t bear to lose her.

As far as wedding songs go, I would say this song has seen it’s fair share of weddings in its day, with perhaps less publicity on it now, but this song is timeless. Written and recorded over 42 years ago, and still so true, it shows that simple, truthful and honest lyrics written from the heart will stand the test of time. Clever rhyming, slang, and trying to over-complicate the musical side of a song will always date it. If someone heard this song for the first time in their lives tomorrow, they could be forgiven for thinking it was only written a year or two ago. This song would be the perfect song for the bridal walk down the aisle, the couple’s first dance together, or even as the song played when the couple leave the church. I cannot talk about this song enough, as it is one of my favourite George Harrison songs, and possibly his greatest work.

The Beatles penned a lot of love songs in their careers, but most of them came from John and Paul. George was the quiet Beatle. He simply sat in the background, kept to himself and did what he was told. This was the case for most of the early years of Beatles music, however, later in their careers, George began to find his way. He helped out with the odd verse in a song, or helped with an offering of lyrics. He befriended Ringo, when John & Paul were off writing lyrics, George would help Ringo learn piano, and help Ringo to find his voice (which only appeared in the odd track throughout their musical career. George only wrote a handful of tracks for the Beatles, before going off into a whirlwind solo career that went into 2001, when George died of Cancer on November 29, 2001.

Some of these songs that George had written for the Beatles were “Something, Here Comes the Sun, I Me Mine, I Want To Tell You, If I Needed Someone, Only A Northern Song, Taxman, Old Brown Shoe, While My Guitar Gently Weeps”, to name just a few.

Although George wrote this song for his wife Patty, a few years later, she left him to hook up and marry their next door neighbour. Eric Clapton. They were all friends for years, they had parties all the time, invited the other to their place every other night and were very close. After the divorce, as hard as it must have been, George forgave Eric, and remained close friends with them both. Eric wrote his song “Layla” about Patty, but, a few years later, she divorced him, and got back together with George. They all remained friends until George died many years later of Lung Cancer. Eric even played at his Memorial concert, with George’s son Dhanni playing a duet with Eric of some of his Father’s songs. Dhanni is the spitting image of a younger George, and many people commented on it after the show, saying that it was as if the young George had returned to say farewell to the old George.

George Harrison – Something
Something in the way she moves
Attracts me like no other lover
Something in the way she woos me

I don’t want to leave her now
You know I believe her now

Somewhere in her smile she knows
That I don’t need no other lover
Something in her style that shows me

Don’t want to leave her now
You know I believe her now

You’re asking me will my love grow
I don’t know, I don’t know
You stick around now it may show
I don’t know, I don’t know

Something in the way she knows
And all I have to do is think of her
Something in the things she shows me

Don’t want to leave her now
You know I believe her now

Got Something to Say?

