30 Day Song Challenge – Day 17

Posted: June 27, 2011 in Meme, Music, Personal

Day 17 – A Song That You Hear Often On The Radio – Elvis Presley – Blue Suede Shoes

I don’t really listen to the radio much these days, I find there are way too many ads, the music is in no particular order or theme, and with the digital age upon us, I have an MP3 stereo in my car, allowing for 11 hours of continuous play before I even need to hook up the iPod.

With this in mind, I will tell you a story.

As a kid, my family would go on the odd road-trip, driving all over the state, and on the rare occurrence, up to NSW (albeit only 5 minutes over the border). As this was the 80s, the longest form of music we had in the car apart from cassette tape (kids, ask your parents) was the radio. My parents would always rule the car radio with an iron fist, so for that reason, I only discovered some of the gems in 80s music in the mid nineties. In the car, we listened to golden oldies, which gave me an appreciation for The Beatles, Beach Boys, Elvis, Johnny Cash, Billy Thorpe, Simon & Garfunkel, and a host of others from the 50s, 60s, 70s and 80s (early 80s, and more the George Harrison-type track, compared to Cyndi Lauper or Sex Pistols)

I went through an Elvis phase, and later, a Beach Boys phase, followed closely by a still-present Beatles phase. One song that I remember from these long drives that in a way, started my fascination with the guitar and music, was “Elvis Presley – Blue Suede Shoes”. This song was played a lot on the golden oldies channel, as it was, and still is a classic of Rock n Roll, however, it was one of the more up-beat tracks on the particular station of choice. I discovered later in life that this was not even an Elvis song, but in fact it was a Carl Perkins song, recorded by Carl, but after a serious accident, he could not tour to promote it. Elvis did a cover and toured, bringing this song to the millions.

Regardless of which version I heard, as far as I was concerned, this was the greatest song I had ever heard to that point in my life. It had everything! The vibrant lyrics of Elvis, great rhythm consisting of a white-based 12-bar blues beat, go-go-worthy guitar riffs, and if I closed my eyes, I could see people swing-dancing to its sounds. Looking back on it now, it is a fairly basic song, as far as early Rock n Roll songs go. Earlier Rock n Roll songs generally consisted of a standard 12-bar blues tune, using the “I, IV, V” rule of music. Lyrics were generally written about a girl, love, a car etc. However this song was written about a pair of shoes. This set it apart from the others (although it was his love of the shoes, so technically a love song…)

This song will forever be a staple in good Rock n Roll music collections, and even 55 years after it was written, it is still recognised and loved by millions.

Blue Suede Shoes – Elvis Presley

Blue Suede Shoes – Carl Perkins

Blue Suede Shoes
(words & music by Carl Perkins)
Well, it’s one for the money,
Two for the show,
Three to get ready,
Now go, cat, go.

But don’t you step on my blue suede shoes.
You can do anything but lay off of my Blue suede shoes.

Well, you can knock me down,
Step in my face,
Slander my name
All over the place.

Do anything that you want to do, but uh-uh,
Honey, lay off of my shoes
Don’t you step on my Blue suede shoes.
Well you can do anything but lay off of my blue suede shoes.

You can burn my house,
Steal my car,
Drink my liquor
From an old fruit jar.

Do anything that you want to do, but uh-uh,
Honey, lay off of my shoes
Don’t you step on my blue suede shoes.
Well you can do anything but lay off of my blue suede shoes.

Well, it’s one for the money,
Two for the show,
Three to get ready,
Now go, go, go.

but don’t you step on my blue suede shoes,
well you can do anything but lay off of my blue suede shoes.

Well it’s a blue blue blue suede shoes
Blue blue blue suede shoes
Blue blue blue suede shoes
Blue blue blue suede shoes
You can do anything but lay off of my blue suede shoes.

Got Something to Say?

