30 Day Song Challenge – Day 07

Posted: June 17, 2011 in Meme, Music, Personal

Day 07 – A Song That Reminds You Of A Certain Event – Guns N Roses – November Rain

“Guns N Roses – November Rain” would undoubtedly remind me of school. Firstly, it reminds me of late primary school, as Guns N Roses were on their Use Your Illusion World Tour, which was creating a HUGE buzz in Melbourne, as it was their only Australian location (Calder Park Speedway, outdoor arena). My sister said she had planned to take me, but my parents wouldn’t allow me to attend (I was 11-12 at the time, and it would have been my first concert). I was a huge fan, but alas, I was also too young. Both of my sisters went to it, and didn’t shut up about it for months. This is one of the many songs that was played repeatedly on the radio at the time, and was the closest I was to get to Guns N Roses (original line up, not the bunch of drop kicks that call themselves GNR now…)

Guns N Roses – November Rain

Secondly, this song also reminds me of my early high school days, when I first started playing guitar in a band (I had started playing a few things the year before, as my sister had taught me the anthem of all guitarists, Deep Purple – Smoke On The Water.) Another guy in my guitar class (Nathan) was a huge Gunners fan, and as such, we became good mates. It turned out we were in the same home room, as well as guitar class. We started a band, with the grand idea of playing Guns N Roses songs (no hope, they are complicated, folks!!). November Rain and Sweet Child O Mine were my suggestions, Mr Brownstone and Paradise City were his. We played none of them. Our teacher flat-out refused to teach them to us, saying they were too difficult (which they are!) and so we played simpler stuff in the band, vowing to play the Gunners one day.

We never did.

Now, whenever I hear this song, I think of those times, when being a rock god was the only aim in life. Being in a band, touring, playing gigs and ‘getting the girls’ was the only thing that mattered.

The other guys in the band have all stopped their music skills now. One is a truck driver, one works in an office and another is a film projectionist. The singers have all moved away, settled down and some ex-members have kids now. But I still think of those days, and dream of what could have been…

May be I will have another band one day? who knows?

This song is in two parts. It makes more sense viewing the video clip (linked above) to explain the emotion heard in the music.
It begins with Axl playing piano on stage to a theatre audience. Axl is seen as the narrator of the story, as once he begins playing, the scene changes to the wedding. This first part describes the love that Axl has for his unnamed bride. They are getting married and have their whole lives to look forward to, and to grow old together. It is a happy part of the song. The clip shows the ceremony, with all the band members participating in the ceremony to some degree. The reception begins, but before the cake can be cut, it begins to rain. everyone runs for cover, and for some unexplained reason, the bride dies.
The second part of this song has a different emotion. It is full of minor chords, power chords and angst. This half of the song depicts the funeral of the bride. It shows the Groom (Axl) grieving the passing of his bride, whilst everyone else tries to console him. Throughout this clip, it keeps cutting back to the theatre, showing Axl playing on the stage with more and more aggression, showing his emotion.
The clip ends with the bride throwing her bouquet from the balcony, the flowers changing colour mid throw from white to red, before landing on her coffin. Axl wakes up covered in sweat, showing that the whole thing was a story, within a narration within a dream.

Guns N Roses – November Rain

When I look into your eyes
I can see a love restrained
But darlin’ when I hold you
Don’t you know I feel the same
‘Cause nothin’ lasts forever
And we both know hearts can change
And it’s hard to hold a candle
In the cold November rain
We’ve been through this such a long long time
Just tryin’ to kill the pain
But lovers always come and lovers always go
An no one’s really sure who’s lettin’ go today
Walking away
If we could take the time to lay it on the line
I could rest my head
Just knowin’ that you were mine
All mine
So if you want to love me
then darlin’ don’t refrain
Or I’ll just end up walkin’
In the cold November rain

Do you need some time…on your own
Do you need some time…all alone
Everybody needs some time…on their own
Don’t you know you need some time…all alone
I know it’s hard to keep an open heart
When even friends seem out to harm you
But if you could heal a broken heart
Wouldn’t time be out to charm you

Sometimes I need some time…on my
own Sometimes I need some time…all alone
Everybody needs some time…on their own
Don’t you know you need some time…all alone

And when your fears subside
And shadows still remain, ohhh yeahhh
I know that you can love me
When there’s no one left to blame
So never mind the darkness
We still can find a way
‘Cause nothin’ lasts forever
Even cold November rain

Don’t ya think that you need somebody
Don’t ya think that you need someone
Everybody needs somebody
You’re not the only one
You’re not the only one

Got Something to Say?

