Psoriasis

Posted: November 18, 2010 in Boring, Personal, Rant

Ever since I was in primary school, I have had a condition called Psoriasis. this is mostly on my scalp, but at times, I get it on my feet and hands too.
As a kid, it didn’t really bother me, however the name-calling and ridicule along the lines of “you’ve got nits!” or similar started to wear thin…
Psoriasis has nothing to do with nits. In fact it is a form of dermatitis. it is genetic, however it can also be controlled with various chemicals, drugs and also natural methods.
As a side effect of having the visible psoriasis, I also have a form of arthitis called Psoriatic arthritis. Just as the psoriasis dries out my skin, and produces too many skin cells, the arthritis I have dries out my joints, causing a shocking pain that has rendered me unable to walk without crutches and cosiderable pain at times.
I have had surgery for this when I was 18, but unfortunately it did not do a lot of good…

Later in life it has become a true pain in the ass… Wearing a suit is tough, as well as most dark clothing, and it looks like dandruf has attacked me with great vengeance.

I have, however, found a few remedies to help combat the problem, however it would really make my life, if there was a way to simply get rid of it, permanently. My favourite remedy is simple. More sunlight and salt water… In short, go to the beach!!

Now, to convince the Doctors to give me a note to take a month off to go to the beach for my treatment… 🙂

Comments
  1. […] You may recall that I posted a while ago, stating that I suffered from Psoriasis… Previous Post […]

  2. […] a number of years now, I have suffered from Psoriasis. I have posted about it many times here and here. At times, it can be under control, but other times, it becomes almost an embarrassment to […]

Got Something to Say?

