Finally got a bit of ‘me’ time!

Posted: April 10, 2001 in Personal, Shenanigans

Hello Everyone.

Well I think this weekend has been one of my best in a while…

I went to see my friends band in Altona on Saturday, and for the first time in 3 years, I got to play on stage!!!!

I called my friend Denzil before the gig and asked if I could play a song, and he said for sure, so I took my Guitar and my Bongo Drum with me to the pub, and he let me play one song on each, which although doesn’t seem like much, really got me in a good mood.

I got to play Bongo Drums for Long Train Running by The Doobie Brothers, and Guitar for Blister In The Sun by The Violent Femmes.

The plus side to all of this is that when I finished the Guitar song, Denzil offered me a bit of play time next month at their next gig, so I am wrapped with that…

I think on-stage is the one place I really feel to be myself, which I don’t really get to be much anymore.

I know that doesn’t make much sense, but let me try to explain.

In everyday life, I hold back a lot, I am shy, and not very straight forward with anything so to speak.

On stage playing music I feel alive. No one can knock me down of that high I get when I break into a solo, or when the song is over, and I have left the stage. Someone could tell me I was absolutely shit, and I wouldn’t care, I would be too high up to care.

To me, performing in front of an audience is a very powerful drug, and although I am shit scared before going up on stage, I will never get enough of being up there. It is very adictive to me, and I love every minute of it!

It is too hard to explain any of this to you much until you have experienced it for yourself, so forgive me if this just seems like rambling to you…

Anyways I gotta go…

See ya soon…

~*Axeman Out*~

Got Something to Say?

